Monday, August 27, 2007

As Ed McMahon said: YOU Have to AIM to Send it In!

2007 Forum
2007 Innovative Teachers Forum Winners

Learning teams from the following schools have been chosen by our selection committee to participate in the 2007 Microsoft U.S. Innovative Teachers Forum:

Abington High School, Abington, PA
Aspen Valley High School, Colorado Springs, CO
Austin Jewish Academy, Austin, TX
Byng Junior High School, Ada, OK
Central Middle School, Portage, MI
Cleveland High School, Seattle, WA
Columbus East High School, Columbus, IN
Fayetteville High School, Sylacauga, AL
Ft. Sumner High School, Fort Sumner, NM
Highland Park High School, Highland Park, IL
Highlands Elementary School, Saugus, CA
J.Clyde Hopkins Elementary School, Sherwood, OR
Keith Valley Middle School, Horsham, PA
Libby Center Tessera Program, Spokane, WA
Mary Institute Country Day School, St. Louis, MO
New River Middle School, Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Park View High School, Sterling, VA
South Columbia Elementary School, Martinez, GA
St. John's Episcopal School, Dallas, TX
Sun Prairie High School, Sun Prairie, WI
Washington Elementary School, Washington, UT
William C. McGinnis Middle School, Perth Amboy, NJ

The winning teams described a wide range of collaboration strategies and projects which incorporate 21st century learning. For example, junior high students used math, science, and technology to develop an award-winning plan to increase school safety in their community, and elementary students learned about the real-life skills necessary to qualify for and run in the Iditarod race.

In the next couple of months, we'll bring you news and information from the Forum about the teaching and learning of these outstanding teams of educators.

No comments: